Field Hockey Drops 10-0 Result to Morrisville State

Field Hockey Drops 10-0 Result to Morrisville State

MORRISVILLE, N.Y. – The visiting Becker field hockey team lost to host Morrisville State on Sunday afternoon, 10-0, on Drake Field in Morrisville. The Mustangs improve to 2-7 overall, while the Hawks drop to 0-8.

Six different Morrisville State players registered goals on the day, including Taylor Fields (Schuylerville, N.Y.), Sarah Angerer (Cooperstown, N.Y.), Paige Jerrett (Parrish, N.Y.), and Rebecca Quackenbush (Barker, N.Y.) who each tallied two apiece. Jamie Anderson (Harpursville, N.Y.) and Ilze Stots (Clinton Corners, N.Y.) added a goal and assist each, while Rebecca Meyer (Morrisville, N.Y.) and Kissandra Blaiser (Canastota, N.Y.) rounded out Morrisville State scoring with two assists each.

Ellen DePasquale (Vernon, N.Y.) collected the shut out win in net, posting four saves in the first half before being relieved by Nicole Gregg (Lisle, N.Y.) in the second half. Gregg turned away one.

Samantha Dilkes (Northport, N.Y.) made 14 stops in net in the loss for the Hawks.

Morrisville State dominated play throughout the contest, holding a 49-11 advantage in shots and 14-5 advantage in penalty corners. The Mustangs were aggressive on offense immediately, posting their first score of the afternoon just 2:20 in on a tip on the left post by Angerer. Within minutes, Quackenbush posted back to back tallies to give Morrisville State a 3-0 cushion. In the 20th minute, Fields extended the Mustang lead to four with a sweeping score, before Jerrett and Stots each posted one for a 6-0 Morrisville State lead at the break.

In the second half, Fields surprised the Hawk defense with a quick tally seconds into the period, and Morrisville State found the back of the cage two additional times before Anderson wrapped up all scoring with a penalty stroke at the 53:39 mark.

Becker is back in action on Wednesday as they host Lasell at Alumni Field at p.m. Morrisville State also returns to the field Wednesday, hosting Geneseo at 4 p.m. on Drake Field.