Hawks Win Inaugural NECC Baseball Championship

Hawks Win Inaugural NECC Baseball Championship

  Beinnington, Vt- Becker College defeated Elms College 13-5 to take home the inaugural New England Collegiate Conference Baseball Championship.

The Hawks got on the board in the first inning on a Jim Cegalrek RBI single. Elms answered back in their half of the first with three runs. Brendan Cordeiro led off the inning with a homer to right field.

With the Hawks trailing 3-1 after one inning, Weston Meehan led off the inning with a homerun to right center, putting the Hawks within one. The Hawks tied the game in the top of third when Joe Corey followed a Jairo Valdez double with an RBI single.

Becker took lead for good in the top of the fourth when Weston Meehan hit a blast over the left field fence, making the score 4-3.

With one out in the fourth, senior captain Geoff Sinnott Jr ripped a single up the middle. The Blazers got the second out of the inning, but Jairo Valdez and Joe Corey hit back to back singles, plating Sinnott with fifth Becker run.

Becker added to their lead in top of the fifth. With men on first and third and two out, Josue Lopez got caught in a run down between first and second, allowing Frank Vaccaro to score from third.

Becker put the game out of reach in the top of the eighth when Frank Vaccaro hit an inside the park homerun into the center field gap making the score 12-3.

After allowing three runs in the first inning, Cody Harmes settled in to shut down the Elms offense for seven consecutive innings. The freshman pitched a complete game allowing ten hits and five earned runs.

Following the game, Dan Briand, Jairo Valdez and Errick Maddern were selected to the All Tournament team.

Over the three games in the NECC tournament, the Hawks batted .403 as a team. NECC Rookie of the Year Joe Corey led the Hawks with a .786 average, including 5 RBI's. The Hawks bats out hit their opponents 50 to 24.

 All three Becker starting pitchers threw complete games, holding their fellow NECC opponents to a .238 batting average. Errick Maddern (game 1), Pierce Onthank (game 2) and Cody Harmes (game 3) combined for a 3.33 ERA in the tournament.