CCC Football Joins ECFC, MASCAC, NEWMAC In Expansion of New England Bowl Partnership

CCC Football Joins ECFC, MASCAC, NEWMAC In Expansion of New England Bowl Partnership

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – For the second consecutive year, Commonwealth Coast Football (CCC), the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC), the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) and the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) will team up to present the New England Bowl series on Saturday, Nov. 18, 2017, the commissioners of the four conferences announced today.

Expanding upon the great success of the 2016 New England Bowl which saw Framingham State University defeat Salve Regina University 37-34 in Middletown, R.I., the 2017 version of the New England Bowl will feature an expansion to two games that will give four teams an opportunity to play in a postseason bowl game.

Each of the 31 football-playing institutions from the four sponsoring conferences will be eligible to declare their intent to participate in the 2017 New England Bowl series.  The CCC, ECFC, MASCAC and NEWMAC commissioners will select the participating teams, the host institutions and the pairings, following the announcement of the 32-team NCAA Division III Championship field on Sunday, Nov. 12.

Criteria that will be used by the four commissioners to select the New England Bowl participants from declared teams will include conference affiliation, overall record, conference record, conference standing, head-to-head results, and results versus teams selected for the NCAA Tournament.

The four conferences have once again partnered with Learfield Sports to freshen up the New England Bowl visual identity and will be exploring additional sponsorship, marketing and merchandising opportunities in the coming weeks. Revenue generated from the game will help offset costs incurred by the host institutions and travel costs incurred by the visiting teams. Live internet broadcasts and partnerships with local charitable organizations are under development.



"The MASCAC is excited to continue our partnership with the CCC, ECFC and NEWMAC. Last year's Inaugural Bowl was a huge success.  I look forward to building upon that experience for our student-athletes with the addition of the second bowl game." – MASCAC Commissioner Angela Baumann

"I am excited to be working with my fellow New England Football Commissioners to bring another championship opportunity to our respective memberships. Adding another Bowl Game for our programs will grow their championship resumes and provide us with an additional opportunity to highlight the success of our deserving student athletes, coaches and institutions." -- ECFC Commissioner Katie Boldvich

"Our goal in the first year was to join together through the Division III New England Commissioners Association to provide opportunities that would enhance our student-athletes' experiences. Based on the feedback and demand from last year's game, I'm excited to collaborate with the commissioners of the CCC, ECFC and MASCAC once again this year and offer two bowl game opportunities." -- NEWMAC Executive Director Patrick B. Summers

"A year ago, the inaugural New England Bowl marked the culmination of a joyous collaboration as our four conference established a new tradition for Division III football in our region. It is with great pride that the CCC joins our sister conferences in expanding that tradition to provide a first-class bowl experience for not just two teams, but four teams of outstanding student-athletes who represent the best of college athletics." – CCC Commissioner Gregg M. Kaye



Commonwealth Coast Football (CCC Football) is a single-sport football conference operating under the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) umbrella. The league has been in operation since 1965 (formerly as the New England Football Conference (NEFC)). The league currently consists of six members – Becker, Curry, Endicott, Nichols, Salve Regina, and Western New England. Membership will increase to seven in 2018 with the addition of the University of New England. Husson will join the conference in 2019.


The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC), founded in 1984, is an NCAA Division III athletic conference comprised of ten full member and four associate member institutions throughout the New England region. Its membership aims to provide student-athletes with a positive experience in their pursuit of excellence through high academic standards, quality competition, and a meaningful student life. The conference administers championships in 18 intercollegiate sports.