John Dutney Named as a Semifinalist for the 18th annual Joe Concannon Award

John Dutney Named as a Semifinalist for the 18th annual Joe Concannon Award
BOSTON – February 20, 2018 – Gridiron Club of Greater Boston president Chris Clemente announced today that 22 players are semifinalists for the 18th Joe Concannon Award, presented annually to the best American-born NCAA Division II/III hockey player in New England.
The Joe Concannon Award was established in 2001 shortly after the passing of the longtime writer for The Boston Globe, who had a great passion for the game of college hockey while always advocating strongly for amateur athletics.
Seventeen teams are represented in the slate of candidates that includes nine players from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC); five from the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC); four from the New England Hockey Conference (NEHC); three from the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC); and one from the Northeast-10 Conference (NE-10).
The list of nominees includes 15 forwards, three defensemen and four goalies. The University of Massachusetts-Boston leads the nominee list with three while Salve Regina, University of New England and Plymouth State have two each.
Just four of the 2018 nominees were semifinalists a year ago. They are UNE forwards Brady Fleurent and Ryan Bloom; Massachusetts-Boston forward Colin Larkin; and Endicott defenseman Logan Day.
The following is the complete list of semifinalists, by team, with statistics through February 18:
Assumption: Cam Laughlin, senior forward from Natick, MA (17G – 15A – 32 points)
Babson: Matt Pompa, junior goaltender from Palm City, FL (2.08 goals-against average; .928 save percentage)
Becker: John Dutney, senior forward from Hudson, MA (5G – 20A – 25 points)
Colby: Sean Lawrence, senior goalie from Granite Bay, CA (2.36 goals-against average; .931 save percentage)
Curry: Zachary White, junior forward from Milford, CT (17G – 15A – 32 points)
Endicott: Logan Day, sophomore defenseman from Seminole, FL (9G – 11A – 20 points)
Fitchburg State: Nick DiNicola, senior forward from Wolcott, CT (11G – 27A – 38 points)
Massachusetts-Boston: Colin Larkin, senior forward from Waterford, MI (23G – 23A – 46 points); Nick Albano, freshman defenseman from Beverly, MA (8G – 25A - 33 points); Nolan Redler, sophomore forward from Winchester, MA (24G – 14A – 38 points)
Massachusetts-Dartmouth: Jonathan Ruiz, junior forward from Williamstown, NJ (24G – 17A – 41 points)
Nichols: Scott Cuthrell, senior forward from Waterford, MI (9G – 30A – 39 points)
Plymouth State: Ryan Stevens, junior forward from Colleyville, TX (11G – 24A – 35 points); Evan Morelli, junior goalie from Reading, MA (1.81 goals-against average; .934 save percentage)
Salve Regina: Jack Billings, sophomore forward from Oak Lawn, IL (19G – 25A – 44 points); Blake Wojtala, junior goalie from Trenton, MI (1.90 goals-against average; .939 save percentage)
Trinity: Liam Feeney, sophomore defenseman from Foxboro, MA (4G – 16A – 20 points)
Wesleyan: Dylan Holze, senior forward from Lynbrook, NY (16G – 10A – 26 points)
Western New England: Matt O'Dea, junior forward from Orland Park IL (18G – 15A – 33 points)
Worcester State: Mike Moran, junior forward from Milford, MA (16G – 14A – 30 points)
University of New England: Ryan Bloom, sophomore forward from Northville, MI (18G – 26A – 44 points) Brady
Fleurent, junior forward from Biddeford, ME (14G – 32A – 46 points)
"This may be the most challenging season we have had in determining a semifinalist list for the Concannon Award," said
Gridiron Club Hockey Awards Committee chairman Tim Costello. This season's exception level of play across all the
conferences as well as the growing number of teams that have been considered in the national rankings are true indicators for
the great talent in New England. There is a short window of opportunity for these players to truly distinguish themselves from
our most talented field contending for this year's award."
The Gridiron Club will announce the finalists and winner of the 18th Joe Concannon Award in March, following league
playoffs and before the start of NCAA Frozen Four in Lake Placid, NY. The award will be presented to the winner at the New
England College Hockey Writers' Dinner in April at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, MA.
Joe Concannon Award Winners
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich University
2002 Michael Carosi Bowdoin College
2003 Nick Stauder Salem State College
2004 Jim Pancyzkowski Wesleyan University
Michael O'Sullivan Curry College
2005 Brian Doherty Curry College
Joseph Ori Trinity College
2006 Adam Dann Bowdoin College
2007 Greg Osborne Colby College
2008 Tom Maldonado Middlebury College
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst College
2010 Coleman Noonan St. Anselm College
2011 Josh Harris Castleton College
2012 Jeremiah Ketts Johnson & Wales University
2013 Colin Mulvey Norwich University
2014 Jackson Brewer Trinity College
2015 Jamie Murray Babson College
2016 Jamie Murray Babson College
2017 Brady Fleurent University of New England
The Joe Concannon Award
The Gridiron Club established the Joe Concannon Award in 2001 to honor Joe, a lifelong devotee of college hockey, former member of the
Walter Brown Award Selection Committee and, as a journalist, a staunch advocate for the amateur athletes he knew and covered. A native of
Litchfield, Connecticut, Joe graduated from Boston University in 1961. He served as sports information director (SID) at Holy Cross before
joining the Boston Globe in the late 1960's to cover college sports. Joe declined frequent invitations by his editors to write about Boston's
major professional sports teams, preferring to concentrate on the colleges, distance running and golf. He wrote the book Marathoning with
Bill Rodgers and established the highly successful Litchfield Road Race in his hometown. Joe was a world traveler and was especially proud
of his Irish heritage, frequently sojourning to the Emerald Isle. He passed away in 2000.
2017-2018 Gridiron Club Hockey Awards Selection Committee and Advisory Board: Tim Costello, Chairman; Joe Bertagna, Tom Burke,
Jim Connelly, Ned Cully, Dick DeCaprio, Bob DeGregorio, Kevin Fleming, Steve Hagwell, Bernie Corbett, John Powers, Paul McNamara,
and William J. Stewart III.